Skip to content

Legislative Updates

CCSNJ Primary Election Day Recap

219th Legislative Session Legislative Updates General Business
On June 8, New Jersey held primary elections for all 120 seats in the legislature as well as for Governor and a number of municipalities. There were few competitive primaries in the state.

In the Gubernatorial primary races, incumbent Governor Phil Murphy won his unopposed Democratic primary. In the Republican primary, Former Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli beat businessman Hirsh Singh, Hudson County pastor Phil Rizzo and Former Somerset County Freeholder Brian Levine.

In the Camden City Democratic primary for Mayor, Incumbant Mayor Vic Carstarphen won, defeating Councilwoman Felisha Reyes Morton, Camden School District advisory board member Elton Custis and Camden Housing Authority Commissioner Luis Quiñones.

In the Atlantic City Mayoral race, Incumbent Mayor Marty Small Sr. won in the Democratic primary over former Assemblyman Tom Foley. The mayor’s council candidates, Councilman George Tibbitt, former Small campaign treasurer Stephanie Marshal and Small aide Bruce Weekes also won over the Foley running mates Aaron Carrington, Suhel Ahmed and Shameeka Harvey.

In the 2nd Legislative District GOP Senate primary to succeed State Sen. Chris Brown, who did not seek re-election, former Assemblyman Vince Polistina defeated former Atlantic County Freeholder Seth Grossman.

Assemblywoman Serena DiMaso lost the Republican primary in the 13th legislative district to Holmdel Board of Education President Vicky Flynn. Flynn will run with Assemblyman Gerald Scharfenberger in the general election.

In the 20th legislative district Senator Joe Cryan and his Assembly running mates, Assemblywoman Annette Quijano and Rev. Reginald Atkins, Roselle’s municipal Democratic chairman, defeated Assemblyman Jamel Holley and his running mates, Christian Veliz and Diane Murray-Clements.

Assemblyman Gordon Johnson and his running mates, Tenafly Democratic Municipal Chair Shama Haider and former Englewood Cliffs Councilwoman Ellen Park, defeated Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle,and her running mates, Teaneck Councilwoman Gervonn Romney Rice and Tenafly Councilwoman Lauren Kohn Dayton to succeed Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg in the 37th legislative district.

Should you have any questions, please contact Hilary Chebra, Manager of Government Affairs at  
Powered By GrowthZone

Your Feedback is Important to Us!

For any Government-related comments, questions or suggestions please contact:

Hilary Chebra

Manager, Government Affairs, CCSNJ

Scroll To Top