Skip to content

Legislative Updates

CALL TO ACTION! Bill to Impose a new 2.5% Tax on Health Insurance Premiums to be Voted on Thursday

219th Legislative Session

Tomorrow, on July 30, the New Jersey Senate and the Assembly will vote on S-2676 (Vitale)/A-4389 (McKeon), which would implement a new 2.5 percent tax on fully insured health insurance premiums for health benefits plans.

The intended purpose of S-2676 (Vitale)/A-4389 (McKeon) is to provide more affordable access to health care in New Jersey, a concept that the CCSNJ undeniably supports. However, this proposal will inevitably lead to higher health insurance premiums for employers that already struggle to afford health insurance coverage for their employees. Should the tax increase proposed in this bill go into effect, the higher premiums will trickle down increasing the cost of insurance for employees at a time when families can ill-afford it.

As a result, the CCSNJ must oppose this legislation, which is estimated to increase health insurance premiums by at least $600 every year for New Jersey residents covered by the typical family health insurance plan. We respectfully ask members to join the CCSNJ in opposing this measure by contacting the members of the New Jersey Senate and Assembly and voice your concerns.

To read the Coalition letter, which the CCSNJ co-signed, opposing this bill, click here.

 Please reach out to Hilary Chebra, Manager, Government Affairs, at if you have any questions.


CCSNJ Members: Contact the Members of the New Jersey Senate and the Assembly and Tell Them to Vote NO on these Business Unfriendly Bills!

Senator Dawn Marie Addiego 

Senator Christopher Bateman 

Senator James Beach 

Senator Chris A. Brown 

Senator Anthony M. Bucco 

Senator Gerald Cardinale 

Senator Richard J. Codey 

Senator Christopher J. Connors 

Senator Kristin M. Corrado 

Senator Nilsa I. Cruz-Perez 

Senator Joseph P. Cryan 

Senator Sandra B. Cunningham 

Senator Patrick J. Diegnan, Jr

Senator Michael J. Doherty 

Senator Nia H. Gill, Esq

Senator Vin Gopal 

Senator Linda R. Greenstein 

Senator James W. Holzapfel 

Senator Thomas H. Kean, Jr. 

Senator Joseph A. Lagana 

Senator Fred H. Madden, Jr. 

Senator Declan J. O'Scanlon, Jr. 

Senator Steven V. Oroho 

Senator Joseph Pennacchio 

Senator Nellie Pou 

Senator Ronald L. Rice 

Senator M. Teresa Ruiz 

Senator Nicholas J. Sacco 

Senator Paul A. Sarlo 

Senator Nicholas P. Scutari 

Senator Robert W. Singer 

Senator Troy Singleton 

Senator Bob Smith 

Senator Brian P. Stack 

Senator Stephen M. Sweeney 

Senator Michael L. Testa, Jr. 

Senator Samuel D. Thompson 

Senator Shirley K. Turner 

Senator Joseph F. Vitale 

Senator Loretta Weinberg

Assemblyman John Armato 

Assemblyman Robert Auth 

Assemblyman Daniel R. Benson 

Assemblyman Brian Bergen 

Assemblyman Jon M. Bramnick 

Assemblyman John J. Burzichelli 

Assemblyman Clinton Calabrese 

Assemblyman Ralph R. Caputo 

Assemblywoman Linda S. Carter 

Assemblyman John Catalano 

Assemblywoman Annette Chaparro 

Assemblyman Nicholas Chiaravalloti 

Assemblyman Robert D. Clifton  

Assemblyman Herb Conaway, Jr

Assemblyman Craig J. Coughlin 

Assemblyman Ronald S. Dancer 

Assemblyman Joe Danielsen 

Assemblyman Wayne P. DeAngelo 

Assemblywoman BettyLou DeCroce 

Assemblyman Christopher P. DePhillips 

Assemblyman John DiMaio 

Assemblywoman Serena DiMaso 

Assemblywoman Joann Downey 

Assemblywoman Aura K. Dunn 

Assemblyman Joseph V. Egan 

Assemblyman Roy Freiman 

Assemblyman Thomas P. Giblin 

Assemblywoman DiAnne C. Gove 

Assemblyman Louis D. Greenwald 

Assemblyman Jamel C. Holley 

Assemblyman Eric Houghtaling 

Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey 

Assemblywoman Angelica M. Jimenez 

Assemblyman Gordon M. Johnson 

Assemblyman Robert J. Karabinchak 

Assemblyman Sean T. Kean 

Assemblyman James J. Kennedy 

Assemblywoman Pamela R. Lampitt

Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez 

Assemblyman Vincent Mazzeo 

Assemblyman Antwan L. McClellan 

Assemblyman Gregory P. McGuckin 

Assemblyman John F. McKeon 

Assemblywoman Angela V. McKnight 

Assemblyman Pedro Mejia 

Assemblyman William F. Moen, Jr. 

Assemblyman Paul D. Moriarty 

Assemblywoman Gabriela M. Mosquera 

Assemblyman Raj Mukherji 

Assemblywoman Nancy F. Munoz 

Assemblywoman Carol A. Murphy 

Assemblyman Ryan E. Peters 

Assemblyman Erik Peterson 

Assemblywoman Nancy J. Pinkin 

Assemblywoman Eliana Pintor Marin 

Assemblywoman Annette Quijano 

Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds-Jackson 

Assemblyman Kevin J. Rooney 

Assemblyman Brian E. Rumpf 

Assemblyman Gary S. Schaer 

Assemblyman Gerard Scharfenberger 

Assemblywoman Holly T. Schepisi 

Assemblyman Erik K. Simonsen 

Assemblyman Parker Space 

Assemblyman William W. Spearman 

Assemblywoman Shanique Speight 

Assemblywoman Jean Stanfield 

Assemblywoman Shavonda E. Sumter 

Assemblywoman Lisa Swain 

Assemblyman Adam J. Taliaferro 

Assemblyman Edward H. Thomson 

Assemblywoman Britnee N. Timberlake 

Assemblywoman Cleopatra G. Tucker 

Assemblyman P. Christopher Tully 

Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle 

Assemblyman Anthony S. Verrelli 

Assemblyman Jay Webber 

Assemblyman Benjie E. Wimberly 

Assemblyman Harold J. Wirths 

Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker 

Powered By GrowthZone

Your Feedback is Important to Us!

For any Government-related comments, questions or suggestions please contact:

Hilary Chebra

Manager, Government Affairs, CCSNJ

Scroll To Top