Skip to content

Legislative Updates

NJ Congressional Redistricting Commission Selects Map

219th Legislative Session Legislative Updates General Business

On Wednesday, December 22 the New Jersey Congressional Redistricting Commission selected the next congressional map, which outlines how congressional voting districts will change based on federal data from the U.S. Census. The Commission, comprised of six Republican members and six Democratic members, each submitted their party’s desired map to tiebreaker and Commission Chair, former Supreme Court Justice John E. Wallace, Jr. last week. Earlier today, it was announced that the Commission approved the map put forward by Democrats by a vote of 7-6.

In South Jersey, the new congressional map most impacts the Second and Third Congressional District. Specifically:

  • Minimal changes were made to the First Congressional District currently held by Donald Norcross (D). The new map adds portions of Gloucester County to the district that were previously in the Second Congressional District, and adds Waterford Township making all municipalities in Camden County in the First Congressional District.
  • In the Second Congressional District currently held by Congressman Jeff Van Drew (R), the new map adds more of Ocean County to the district, which previously only included a small portion of the county, adds certain areas of Gloucester County, while also removing certain portions of Gloucester and Burlington Counties.
  • In the Third Congressional District currently held by Congressman Andy Kim (D), the new map removes all of Ocean County from the district and creates one that keeps most of Burlington County, except for Palmyra and Maple Shade, which remain in the First Congressional District. It also added parts of Mercer County and Monmouth County. Previously, the Third District included most of Burlington County and parts of Ocean County.


Other important statewide takeaways from the new congressional map are:

  • In the Fifth Congressional District currently held by Congressman Josh Gottheimer (D), the new map adds parts of Bergen County and removes Warren County making the district more favorable for the incumbent.
  • In the Seventh Congressional District currently held by Congressman Tom Malinowski (D), the district was changed to add all of Warren County and parts of Morris County making the district more difficult to win for the incumbent. Former New Jersey Senate Republican Leader Tom Kean, Jr. is challenging Congressman Malinowski next year.
  • In the Eleventh Congressional District currently held by Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill (D), the district changes to add parts of Essex County and removes parts of Sussex County, which is predominantly Republican.


In response to the Democrat map being selected, the Republican Commission members released this statement. The new congressional map will be in place for the upcoming midterm elections.


Additionally, the New Jersey Legislative Apportionment Commission is currently meeting and working to redraw New Jersey’s 40 legislative districts. A new map must be voted on no later than March 1, 2022. The CCSNJ will keep you apprised of further developments as they occur.

Powered By GrowthZone

Your Feedback is Important to Us!

For any Government-related comments, questions or suggestions please contact:

Hilary Chebra

Manager, Government Affairs, CCSNJ

Scroll To Top