$15 Minimum Wage
On February 4, 2019, Governor Murphy signed A-15 (Coughlin/Tucker) , which would increase New Jersey’s minimum wage rate to $15 per hour by 2024 for most businesses. At the time of its passage, New Jersey was only the fourth state to enact a phased-in $15 minimum wage rate in the nation. On January 1, 2020 the minimum wage rate increased to $11 per hour and will continue to increase by $1 per hour every January 1 until it reaches $15 on January 1, 2024. Some businesses that operate seasonally and small businesses (defined as less than six employees) will have a longer phase-in period reaching $15 in 2026. The agricultural worker wage rate would rise to $12.50 by 2024, but no higher without review by the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development and with legislative approval.
To read the CCSNJ full position on this legislation, click here.
To read Governor Murphy’s press release, click here.
To read the statute, click here.